top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAdmin

The honour of sacrifices


On 16th January 2017, my aging grandmother walks home with overflowing joy. She was trembling to tell me this. Her handing were shaking but I noticed this day her figures were white. I have never seen my grandma happy to the brim. What warmed her heart? Perhaps boiled it. "Umuthi, dacemania na mutumia twari nake kiugu hindi ya theru" see translation. "Today I met the woman we shared 'a cowshed' in the Whites detention Camp." She calls it a cowshed, reminding me of her many stories. While in her lifetime she has for more than once held children to bless including me, attended graduation and took a ride in cars driven by her own children, nothing aroused this level of joy. In her many stories there is one constant theme: we are not fighting for our sons fortune, but liberty (independence) and PEACE. A course they were more prepared to die for than live in the status QUO. Regards I was coming of age, when my martenal grandfather almost received a heart attack in the face of the ethnic crashes in 2007,as His brother narrated of his neighbours burning home and a village in ashes. Simply because he couldn't figure out how a fellow Blackman wore a White man's wool. Forgot who he is. And fight his own. In honour of the sacrifices they endured that we play in open fields, we shall continue with the struggle. Waging war for peace. I shall pay tribute to my great grandfather's soul by leading the war for peace, realizing economic freedom and championing the dignity of the Kenyan man. Grandma, 53 years counting, the match is not yet finished. But we getting closer. Peace ain't complete, poverty is enslaving and illiteracy is holding us, but we getting closer. Our job is easier because somebody already got us out of the detention Camp, somebody already raised our Kenyan flag. When the obligation feels to heavy, when the sacrifices seems too much, when the torch I have been passed seems too heavy, I remember the sacrifices already made and draw strength from their example. In my generation, am not called to give up my live like my great grandfather or forever be separated from my family like my grandfather. We honour those who walked so we could run, we must run so our children sore. We will not grow weary, we will not relent and will not spare any effort. May Mrs.Kinyanjui (my grandmother) live a long and healthy life. May God honour the memories of our fallen heroes. May peace prevail. May God Bless the Republic of kenya. @Servant Ibrahim Ng'ang'a @196_as_one_Peace_Dialogues #Kenyans4Peace 


14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page